Clifford Spiegelman

Term Expires: 
Texas A&M University

Distinguished Professor (September 2009)

Dr. Clifford Spiegelman joined the Department of Statistics at Texas A&M University in 1987 as an associate professor and was promoted to professor in 1990. Since 2004, Dr. Spiegelman has also held the title of Senior Research Scientist at the Texas Transportation Institute (TTI). Since 2005, Dr. Spiegelman has also acted as an Adjunct Investigator of the Biostatistics Branch, Division of Cancer Epidemiology and Genetics at the National Cancer Institute (NCI).

Dr. Spiegelman first established his research name by becoming involved with chemists early in his career at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). He was one of the founders of the field of Chemometrics and is still a leading figure in the area. Currently, Dr. Spiegelman supervises, on average, 2-3 statistics students, all of whom work for the Texas Transportation Institute (TTI). The TTI is the major state agency in Texas responsible for transportation research, and it is the largest university based transportation research group in the country. Over the last seven or eight years, Dr. Spiegelman has turned his attention to statistical forensics. A direct outcome of his work was when the FBI stopped using compositional bullet lead analysis (CBLA) in 2007, after he demonstrated it to be seriously flawed. Also in 2007, the Annals of Applied Statistics published an article entitled "Chemical and forensic analysis of JFK assassination bullet lots: Is a second shooter possible?" that led to a Statistics in Chemistry Award.

Dr. Spiegelman has been selected for many honors and awards including; Fellow of the Institute of Mathematical Statistics (1990), Fellow of the American Statistical Association (1992), elected member of the International Statistical Institute (1993), Statistics in Chemistry Award for best paper (2002 and again in 2008) and the Jerome Sacks Award for Outstanding Cross-Disciplinary Research (2007). The Sacks Award, a major national award established by the National Institute of Statistical Sciences in 2000, has among its winners a member of the US National Academy of Sciences and two winners of the COPSS (Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies) Presidents Award.