2019 Rao Prize Conference

Monday, May 6, 2019

The Department of Statistics at Penn State will hold a one-day conference on Monday, May 6, 2019, to honor Professor Grace Wahba, the 2019 C. R. and Bhargavi Rao Prize Recipient, Professor Tailen Hsing, the 2019 C. G. Khatri Lecturer, and Professor Doug Nychka, the 2019 P. R. Krishnaiah Lecturer.

The C. R. and Bhargavi Rao Prize was established by C. R. and Bhargavi Rao to honor and recognize outstanding and influential innovations in the theory and practice of mathematical statistics, international leadership in directing statistical research, and pioneering contributions by a recognized leader in the field of statistics.

The C. G. Khatri Memorial Lectureship and P. R. Krishnaiah Memorial Lectureship, which began as two Visiting Scholars programs in 1992, honor the memory of C. G. Khatri and P. R. Krishnaiah by inviting outstanding researchers in statistics to deliver lectures at Penn State.

The one-day (8:00 am - 5:00 pm) conference will be held on the University Park campus of Penn State University in 100 Life Sciences, Berg Auditorium.



Session 1

Rao Prize Winner: Grace Wahba, University of Wisconsin–Madison
Ming Yuan, Columbia University 
Bharath Sriperumbudur, Penn State University

Session 2

Khatri Lecturer: Tailen Hsing, University of Michigan
Alex Smola, Amazon Web Services

Session 3 

Krishnaiah Lecturer: Doug Nychka, Colorado School of Mines
Hao Helen Zhang, University of Arizona

Poster Session Information

All Rao Prize Conference registrants, in particular statistics Ph.D. students,  are invited to participate in the poster session, third-floor bridge of the Life Sciences Building from 12:30 pm - 2:30 pm lunch included.  

Event Type


Penn State Department of Statistics


National Institute of Statistical Sciences


100 Berg Auditorium
328 Thomas Building
Penn State University
University Park
United States
Professor Grace Wahba, the 2019 C. R. and Bhargavi Rao Prize Recipient
Penn State Department of Statistics