Landwehr and Young Receive the 2012 NISS Distinguished Service Awards

James Landwehr and Linda Young are this year's recipients of the Distinguished Service Awards from the National Institute of Statistical Sciences (NISS). The awards were presented by NISS director Alan Karr at the NISS/SAMSI reception at the 2012 Joint Statistical Meetings in San Diego, California.

The NISS Distinguished Service Awards were established by the Board of Trustees in 2005 to recognize individuals who have given extraordinary service that significantly advances NISS and its mission. As Karr noted, the recipients “didn’t have to do what they did for NISS, but did it because they believe in NISS and what it does for the statistics community.”

 Jim Landwehr, who works at Avaya Laboratories, was recognized for his many years of serving on the NISS Board of Trustees, which include chairing the Board for three years and serving this past year as chair of the Board’s Affiliates Committee.

 Linda Young, professor of statistics at the University of Florida, was acknowledged for her service on the Board of Trustees and leadership role in the NISS-NASS research program, which ran from 2009 to 2011.

 Both Landwehr’s and Young's names will be added to a plaque that is displayed in the lobby of the NISS building in Research Triangle Park, which lists the names of all recipients. Each also received a NISS T-shirt from Karr. 

Friday, August 10, 2012 by Katherine Kantner