NISS Distinguished Alumni Award

The NISS Distinguished Alumni Award is intended for former NISS postdocs or research associates who have had distinguished careers. Examples might include academics who have been promoted to full professor, and individuals who have had successful careers in business, or as leaders in industry or government. Only former NISS postdocs or research associates who left NISS more than 10 years prior to the awarding year are eligible for the award.

Nominations are being sought for the 2021 NISS Distinguished Alumni Award

Nomination Procedure

To nominate yourself for the NISS Distinguished Alumni Award submit as one PDF document the following information to by April 30, 2021:

  1. A cover letter limited to two pages highlighting your achievements. The letter should also include a statement concerning your willingness to attend the NISS reception at the Joint Statistical Meetings in Philadelphia, PA.  
  2. Your up-to-date CV.

Send questions or comments to

2020 Awardee

Jennifer L. Clarke: Honoring her distinguished career and research contributions in computational biology, bioinformatics and statistical methods with applications to human health and plant sciences, and for her excellent service at the university level and in both national and international organizations.

2019 Awardee

Haibo Zhou: Honoring his distinguished career, his contributions as a research biostatistician, especially in environmental statistics, outcome-dependent sampling, and reproductive epidemiology.

2018 Awardee

Matthias Schonlau: Honoring his distinguished career as a research statistician in both industry and academia, especially his contributions in the area of survey methodology.

2017 Awardees

Dr. Shanti Gomatam is a Mathematical Statistician at the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. The award recognizes Gomatam's significant contributions to the review and approval of safe and effective medical products.

Dr. Minge Xie is a Professor of Statistics at the Rutgers University. The award recognizes Xie's research on the foundations of statistics and his longstanding commitment to his students and profession.

2015 Awardees

Jiming Jiang: Honoring his distinguished career and excellence in leadership through research, through education and through example as a role model for the profession of statistics.

Laura Steinberg: Honoring her distinguished career and impact through her leadership in realizing a vision for the intersection of environmental science and statistics.